Picture
Last year in Symphony, we had the chance to play a piece called Marche Slave. It was a lot of fun to play, especially because I found it challenging. It's a long piece, about 9 minutes, but it doesn't seem that long because you get so absorbed in it. Those are my favourite songs, the ones you get lost in.  If you haven't heard Marche Slave, you should definitely Youtube it because Tchaikovsky was such an incredible composer.

4/24/2013 12:14:54 am

What instrument do you play? And if there is more than one which is your favourite? I tried to learn guitar, but it turned out that I don't have any patience to learn it. I thought I could just pick it up and play, but I realize now that it is much harder than I originally thought.

Reply
Casey Boe.
4/24/2013 11:08:26 pm

Cello is my main instrument, but I also play a bit of piano. I definitely enjoy playing the cello more. Yeah, there's more to playing an instrument than meets the eyes. You need to learn positioning, tuning, how to read the notes, etc.

Reply
Sam
5/8/2013 11:01:17 pm

I adore Tchaikovsky! I remember first hearing the waltz of the flowers at a very young age in the nutcracker, and later became hooked when I discovered the internet. Do you enjoy listening to classical out of school as well as playing it?

Reply



Leave a Reply.